Method and limits
Each product row was taken from a manufacturer product page or datasheet (or a distributor page where the maker's page was unavailable). Every row links to the page it came from. Values not stated on that page are left blank rather than guessed.
How "nearest DOLD" is assigned
Matches are made on function first, then output contacts, housing width, supply voltage and safety rating. This continues the DOLD-to-Pilz cross-reference method.
- Direct same function and output set, similar width and supply.
- Close same function; differs in contacts, width or voltage.
- Partial covers part of the function or uses a different architecture.
- None no comparable DOLD product identified.
Before quoting a substitute
Treat every pairing as a starting point. A Direct rating does not authorise substituting a device in a safety function. Check both datasheets for the exact variant, approvals, stop category, PL/SIL/Cat, response times and terminal type, and re-validate the safety function to EN ISO 13849 / IEC 62061.
Coverage
Known gaps
- Pilz: the Pilz e-shop pages do not state PL, SIL or Category, so those fields are blank for nearly all Pilz rows. Use the "Not stated" option in the PL filter to include them.
- Schneider Electric: se.com loads its spec tables in the browser, so Schneider rows hold only what the product description states. Datasheets mostly come from distributor copies.
- Voltage and terminal variants are usually merged into one row, with the voltages listed. Order numbers show one representative variant.
- DOLD itself: 854 products now cover safety technology (including SAFEMASTER STS modules), monitoring relays, fault annunciators and accessories, timers, power electronics, PCB relays, enclosures, installation electronics (remote switches, staircase timers, priority relays) and control devices (interface relays, power supplies, Modbus I/O). DOLD makes no clock-type time switch, so rival time switches show no DOLD equivalent.
- Latest additions: Pizzato (safety switches and safety modules), Thiim and IME (monitoring relays, residual current and insulation monitors), ELKO EP (full relay, timer and installation range) and the Eltako timer, interface, power supply and monitoring range. Pizzato, Thiim, IME and Eltako rows are mostly series level, so order numbers may be missing; some Thiim items come from the 2021 catalogue and may be discontinued.
- ReeR MOSAIC vs SAFEMASTER PRO: all 48 ReeR MOSAIC modules (master, I/O, output, relay, speed, analogue, fieldbus and bus-transfer units) are cross-referenced module by module against SAFEMASTER PRO. Each row lists the screw-terminal order number and gives the clamp-terminal number under Details. 30 are Direct matches with the same I/O and function, 11 are Close (ATEX versions, fieldbus-ready masters, internal encoder supply, the 4-protocol MBECOM and the MCT bus-transfer units), and MR8 is Partial (equal to two UG 6912.28). The MA2/MA4 analogue units and the DeviceNet, CC-Link and USB interfaces have no SAFEMASTER PRO module in this data. Search "MOSAIC" or a ReeR order number such as 1100003. ReeR has almost no UK online pricing: M1, M1S and M1S COM are priced from Access Electrical (UK), and most other modules from an Italian web shop and TME, converted from EUR or USD. The saved datasheet for each module is ReeR's MOSAIC installation manual or fieldbus manual, which cover every module.
- KOBOLD: 22 KOBOLD Messring control devices and relays are included: conductive level relays (NE series), switching amplifiers (MSR, KFD/KFA), limit-value indicators with relays (ADI, DAG), rotation and frequency monitors (ZED, DAG-AX), and counters and analysis controllers. Kobold's electronic range is small, and most units are panel indicators rather than DIN-rail relays, so most matches are Partial. NE-5048 and MSR-020 are Direct matches to MK 9151N and BA 7961. Every row has a saved Kobold datasheet. Kobold has no UK web shop, so 12 prices are Kobold USA "starting at" prices converted from USD, and one comes from Kempston Controls (UK). Nine units have no published price.
- Known gaps: no rival latching relay modules were found for AD 8851, UG 8851, MK 8852 or BA 7632. Thiim DACB/DACC is not yet included.
- PCB relays and enclosures: competitors are Elesta, Hengstler, Panasonic, Omron, IDEC, Finder, TE Connectivity (Schrack), Hongfa and Zettler for relays and sockets, and Phoenix Contact, Weidmüller, Italtronic, Bopla, OKW, Hammond, CamdenBoss and Takachi for housings. Relay dimensions are often missing because they only appear in datasheet drawings. Phoenix Contact sells many housings as separate upper and lower parts, so those rows are marked Partial. Some Italtronic, Railbox and Takachi dimensions come from distributor tables. No forcibly guided PCB relays were found from Zettler or Comat Releco.
- Switch families (Euchner, Schmersal, IDEC, Rockwell) are often one row per family with sparse contact data.
- Legacy products: discontinued items were excluded where the page said so. Old ABB Jokab RT/JSB relays and Siemens phase-out items are kept and tagged in Features.
- Saved datasheets: about 9 in 10 competitor products now have a manufacturer PDF datasheet saved on this site. Open a product and choose "Saved datasheet (PDF)"; only signed-in users can open it. Phoenix Contact blocks automated downloads, so about 110 of 248 Phoenix rows link to the manufacturer page only; the rest use distributor copies. Some sheets are catalogue extracts or distributor copies, and a few (Thiim, Eltako) are not available as PDFs.
- DOLD price-list families: 68 DOLD families on the 2026 UK trade price list that were not yet in the finder were added, such as AN 9843, AA 9943, EC 9621, MK 9151, HL 3096, AA 9050, MK 9906, the ZWS resistors and the RP 599x annunciators. Data comes from dold.com, DOLD catalogues and datasheets. Many are legacy families; where DOLD names a current successor, the product window shows it and links to it. Each new family was re-compared against competitors: researched equivalents already in the finder are linked, other researched names are listed in the product window, and competitors that match a successor model are carried over as Close or Partial matches.
- Fortress and Castell vs SAFEMASTER STS: 82 trapped-key and key-transfer products (Castell 44, Fortress 38), including Castell AI, AIE, AIS, X/Z key exchange, KSS and time-delay units and Fortress mGard, amGardpro and tGard. Each is mapped to the nearest SAFEMASTER STS module (Direct 9, Close 33, Partial 27, None 13). 78 have a datasheet link. 26 have a price: Castell prices are "from" prices from Pneutrol Spares UK; Fortress prices come from EU and US sellers and are converted.
- DOLD UK prices: DOLD rows show UK trade prices from the DOLD UK 2026 trade price list (all 7,925 articles; 4 listed without a price are shown as "On request"). Each DOLD row shows its 7-digit article number. The product window lists every price-list article for that model with its type and UK trade price, and you can filter that list. Searching any article number, such as 0050720, finds its DOLD product. 557 of the 854 DOLD products are priced. The rest, mainly PCB relays, enclosures and SAFEMASTER STS parts, are not on the UK list. About 960 price-list lines belong to older models that are not in the finder, such as AN 9843, AA 9943 and MK 9151 (non-N). In the side-by-side comparison, competitor prices are also shown as a difference from the DOLD price.
- Prices: about 3 in 4 competitor products (2,163 of 2,847) show a published UK price, excluding VAT, checked 28 Oct 2026. Most prices come from RS Components, Farnell, BPX, Rapid, the Pilz UK e-shop and other UK distributors. Where no UK price was found, EU or US prices were converted at EUR 0.87 and USD 0.76 to the pound and are marked as converted. Minimum order quantity and order multiples are shown where the seller states them. The trade price is the best published quantity-break price; negotiated trade discounts are not public. "Variant" means the price is for a close variant, such as another supply voltage. "From" means a series starting price. Bender, Hengstler, Weidmüller housings, Pizzato and most annunciators have few public prices. Treat prices as indicative and check them before quoting.
- Product photos: 3,518 of the 3,851 products show a photo (DOLD 875 of 922, competitors 2,643 of 2,929). 2,165 come from the manufacturer's product page or media library, 444 from a distributor page where the manufacturer had none, and 909 from the product datasheet. Each photo shows where it came from. A photo marked "representative of range" is shared by several models in a family. Pilz pages were opened in a browser. Phoenix Contact, Finder and Omron photos were found by image search on the article or model number, then checked by eye, and only images whose title or address carries that number were used. They come from the manufacturer's own site where possible, otherwise from a distributor listing. Siemens and Schneider pages block automated access, so many of those use datasheet pictures or have no photo.
- Matches: each nearest-DOLD pairing was judged from the product data, not taken from the manufacturer.